Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Want to make movies using Python?

‘No,’ you reply categorically.

Okay, well, let me persuade you with PyMovieStudio, a Python application for making movies.

PyMovieStudio builds upon my post, Be a Movie Director using Python (Mark II), to allow you to easily record, edit and screen a homemade movie!

The PyMovieStudio Wiki has the finer detail of how to go about creating flicks. Here’s a basic overview…

Record the movie

To record my “Killer Robot” movie, I plugged four webcams into a single PC. Using PyMovieStudio, I can shoot the movie from multiple camera angles simultaneously:

PyMovieStudio_RecordMovie2

Note: PyMovieStudio can be configured for up to four webcams (though there is nothing stopping you adding more!)

Edit the movie

With the four camera angles of my “Killer Robot” movie recorded to disk, I can use PyMovieStudio to edit the movie. I can replay the movie and cut between camera angles using the power of my voice! For example, I shout “two” into my computer microphone and Google Speech Recognition switches to camera two:

PyMovieStudio_EditMovie

Screen the movie

With my “Killer Robot” movie edited to the desired camera angles, I use PyMovieStudio to watch the movie with a big sack of popcorn:

PyMovieStudio_ScreenMovie

Summary

So there you have it, PyMovieStudio can be used to make movies!

Here’s the “Killer Robot” movie in all its finery:

Oh the poor Lego policemen, terrorized at a woodland hospital. Tears do flow.

So what is next for PyMovieStudio? Well, we can use OpenCV Computer Vision to detect and track objects in our movie. And we can use OpenGL Graphics Library to add special effects to our tracked objects, such as explosions. And let’s add some audio too, so those explosions ring in our ears!

So why not grab PyMovieStudio from GitHub and start making movies. If you do, be sure to let me know – we all want to share in your gory glory.

Ciao!

