Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Arkwood wove his fingers together, ‘Tell me about your mother,’ he said softly. I shuffled on the chaise longue.

Instead, I told him about my Oculus Rift virtual reality headset. You see, the C++ Microsoft Visual Studio application (with Oculus SDK for Windows) can now handle OpenGL environment mapping. Of refraction, that is.

‘Does your mind seem like a refraction?’ Arkwood pressed. I told him that I did not know.

He put on the headset to understand:

‘Ah,’ he exclaimed, ‘I can see how the mountains are bent out of position.’ It was the effect of the refractive index of air and glass, coded into the fragment shader:

"float ratio = 1.00 / 1.52;\n"
"vec3 I = normalize(FragPos - viewPos);\n"
"vec3 R = refract(I, normalize(oNormal), ratio);\n"
"FragColor = vec4(texture(skybox, R).rgb, 1.0);\n"

‘Fragment,’ he uttered, leaning into me so that his black polo neck was all I could see. ‘Are your thoughts in fragments, are you… unhinged?’

I was not sure what he was getting at. I told him that Snell’s law described refraction. Learn OpenGL article Cubemaps had the detail.

‘Oh, come now. Let us explore your father. Was he a broken man?’

I don’t know. Can’t we talk about the skybox of mountains and lake instead.

‘No!’ he said more firmly. ‘Tell me about him. Did he have my eyes?’

I was almost wrapped in his tweed jacket, my face pressed into his cotton chest. I pushed him back.

‘Okay,’ he announced breezily, clapping his hands. ‘Same time next week.’ I took a donut from the small fridge beneath his desk and left.

And the notes of our session:

